She’s a full-on Monet

“It’s like a painting, see? From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess.” – Cher Horowitz, Clueless

IMG_1244

That pretty much describes the Haruni shawl post blocking.

IMG_1249

I finally got around to getting some pictures of my sister in her Christmas shawl. Isn’t she cute?

IMG00021-20110123-1453

Sonja has always been one of my favorite people to knit for because she always seems to really appreciate it and I know she actually wears what I make for her.

IMG00018-20110123-1452

Sunday night, about an hour before bedtime, I finally ripped out the stripey brown and green socks and started a new pattern with the yarn (Blueberry Waffle Socks). Last night I finished the first sock (seriously, two nights later). This has really been a good lesson for me about choosing the correct yarn for the correct project. The first pattern I chose called for fingering weight yarn, was insanely ginormous and I barely made any progress. The second pattern was written for DK weight yarn (mine is sport weight) and absolutely flew off the needles. To give you a better idea of how awful the sizing on the first attempt was, there were 32 fewer stitches cast on for the new pattern.

IMG_1256

It’s currently 8 degrees with a windchill in the negative numbers. It was a good opportunity to wear my new pink hat for the first time and it did not disappoint me. Back to work on those socks now…

2 Responses to She’s a full-on Monet

  1. Erin says:

    I just want you to know, dear cousin, that you can knit these for me anytime you want to. And I will bring you food and act out episodes of your favorite tv shows and read aloud from classic sci-fi novels while you work.

    http://www.boingboing.net/2011/01/30/beowulf-sock-pattern.html

    Freakin’ Awesome. And so are you!

  2. KnitterInPink says:

    WHOooooo!!! That’s chilly. Love the shawl(s). I shall send you speedy-sock vibes.

Leave a Reply

