Beads, beads, and more beads…

Next week my grandma turns 90 and to celebrate the occasion I knitted her a beaded shawl. I chose the Haruni (it means “Grandmother” in Tolkien’s elven language), which I’ve made before, but this time I knitted it with over 1,050 size 8/0 TOHO silver-lined crystal beads. I used this tutorial to learn how to knit the beads into this. To call this project tedious would be an understatement. I started it back in March and took a LOT of breaks. One of those breaks was necessary due to breaking the tip off my size 16 crochet hook and taking some time to find a replacement.

Beaded Haruni Shawl

For the yarn I used KnitPicks Stroll Tonal (colorway = Blue Violet) because my grandma loves pastel colors. I did two extra repeats of “Chart B” to make a really generously sized shawl. As always, I’m awed by the magic of blocking.

Unblocked:

Beaded Haruni Shawl

Blocked:

Beaded Haruni Shawl

The most disappointing part was not being able to get a photo that really shows off the beads. I tried different lighting, different colored backgrounds, and different angles but they just don’t show up in photos the way they do in person. In person, they catch the light and they really sparkle. I couldn’t stop looking at this for the first week after I finished it.

2 Responses to Beads, beads, and more beads…

  1. Sonja Parr says:

    Holy Shit, Sar! it’s BEAUTIFUL!

  2. Beautiful and I love the color.

Leave a Reply

